New Year’s Eve Concert 2010

Buy DVD:

About the DVD

This is the premiere of a series of New Year's Eve Concerts from the famous Semperoper in Dresden. Christian Thielemann, no stranger to Deutsche Grammophon, and designated Principal Conductor of Staatskapelle Dresden, pours his expertise into Lehár's evergreen The Merry Widow, with the operatic megastar Renée Fleming in the title role. Adding to the magnetic presence of Renée Fleming is the baritone and charm of Christopher Maltman, both singers making their Staatskapelle bows. Short encores from Lehár's The Land of Smiles and, on this occasion, obligatory, waltzes of Johann Strauss II, round the musical event off. Fleming also performs a few encores including "I Could Have Danced All Night" from My Fair Lady.

DVD Info

Region: All Regions
Number of discs: 1
Studio: Deutsche Grammophon
DVD Release Date: February 15, 2011