Great Opera Scenes

Buy album:

About the Album

This disc includes pieces by Mozart, Tchaikovsky, Dvořák, Verdi, Britten and Richard Strauss. Fleming is given strong support by mezzo-soprano Larissa Diadkova, baritone Jonathan Summers, and by the late Sir Georg Solti in one of his last recordings.

As the possessor of one of the great lyric soprano voices of our time, soprano Renée Fleming is in demand in the world's great opera houses. (It doesn't hurt that she's also lovely and a fine actress.) This album is an outstanding collection of great arias, ravishingly sung.

Sarah Bryan Miller

Track List

  1. Mozart: Le nozze di Figaro, K.492 / Act 2 - "Porgi amor" 3:51
  2. Mozart: Le nozze di Figaro, K.492 / Act 3 - "E Susanna non vien!...Dove sono i bei momenti" 6:15
  3. Tchaikovsky: Eugene Onegin, Op.24, TH.5 / Act 1 - "Puskai pogilabnu ya, no pryezhde" (Letter Scene) 21:15
  4. Dvorák: Rusalka, Op.114 / Act 1 - "O Silver Moon" 6:40
  5. Verdi: Otello / Act 4 - "Era più calmo?...Piangea cantando...Ave Maria" 16:04
  6. Britten: Peter Grimes, Op.33 / Act 3 - "Embroidery in childhood" 5:55
  7. R. Strauss: Daphne, Op.82 - "Ich komme, ich komme" 11:25

Recording info

Release Date: September 9, 1997
Label: Decca
CD / Download: 1
ASIN: B0000042HU