Map to the Treasure

Buy album:

About the Album
Reimagining Laura Nyro

Childs is not alone in his enthusiasm for Nyro's music, an incredible range of musicians join him in interpreting her narratives. Classical soprano Renée Fleming and cellist Yo-Yo Ma add new meaning to her hometown ode, "New York Tendaberry." Jazz stars Esperanza Spalding and Wayne Shorter collaborate on Nyro's pictorial "Upstairs by a Chinese Lamp," and R&B chanteuse Ledisi updates one of Nyro's biggest hits, "Stoned Soul Picnic." Other prominent voices include Alison Krauss, Rickie Lee Jones, Shawn Colvin, Dianne Reeves, Susan Tedeschi, Lisa Fischer and Becca Stevens, with featured instrumental soloists Chris Botti, Jerry Douglas, Chris Potter and Steve Wilson. Childs' own experiences leading jazz chamber groups proved invaluable to creating the widescreen scope of "Map to the Treasure" his focus was on arranging the ensemble and guests to best present Nyro's imagery. Even after Childs' decades of considering Nyro's music, at the heart of it all is his unyielding devotion to her art. That love is the heart of the re-imagination of "Map to the Treasure."

Along with the aforementioned Reeves and Botti, Childs is joined by such like-minded luminaries as vocalist Renee Fleming, cellist Yo-Yo Ma, singer/songwriter Rickie Lee Jones, bassist/vocalist Esperanza Spalding, saxophonist Wayne Shorter, and others. Ultimately, with Map to the Treasure, Childs doesn't simply reimagine Nyro's songs as elevate them in a spiritual and heartfelt celebration of her life and music.

AllMusic Review by Matt Collar

Track List

  1. New York Tendaberry 7:21
  2. The Confession 4:41
  3. Map to the Treasure 7:15
  4. Upstairs by a Chinese Lamp 5:19
  5. Been on a Train 6:23
  6. Stoned Soul Picnic 4:26
  7. Gibsom Street 6:30
  8. Save the Country 7:32
  9. To a Child 5:48
  10. And When I Die 6:10

Recording info

Release Date: September 9, 2014
Label: Sony
CD / Download: 1