Sacred Songs

Buy album:

About the Album

This album offers Bach's, Gounod's and Schubert's versions of "Ave Maria", "Rejoice Greatly" and "He Shall Feed His Flock" from Messiah, excerpts of Fauré's Requiem and Poulenc's Gloria, "L'Adieu des Bergers" from L'Enfance du Christ among other beautiful sacred pieces.

This lovely CD features Renée Fleming singing religious music in an unaffected, lovely manner. Many favorites are here: both the Bach/Gounod and Schubert versions of "Ave Maria," each offered with long breaths and soft tone; "Rejoice Greatly" from Messiah, delivered with virtuosity and gleaming sound, and "He Shall Feed His Flock," also from Messiah, sung in a smooth, laid-back manner. Bits of the Fauré Requiem and Poulenc Gloria are welcome, as is the gorgeous "L'Adieu des Bergers" from L'Enfance du Christ. In the prayer from Humperdinck's Hansel und Gretel, Fleming is joined by the splendid Susan Graham, and a version of "Amazing Grace" features Mark O'Connor on violin. Two excerpts from Mozart's Mass in C Minor, pieces by Reger and Franck, and a few surprises round out this devotional CD.

Robert Levine

Track List

  1. Gounod: Ave Maria: arr. from Bach's Prelude No.1 BWV 846 - Ave Maria 3:15
  2. J.S. Bach: Herz und Mund und Tat und Leben, Cantata BWV 147 - Arr. Chris Hazell - Jesu bleibet meine Freude 2:44
  3. Ochs: Dank sei dir, Herr 3:16
  4. Schubert: Ave Maria, D839 4:16
  5. Mozart: Mass in C minor, K.427 "Grosse Messe" - Laudamus te 4:53
  6. Franck: Panis Angelicus 4:12
  7. Handel: Messiah / Part 1 - Air: "He shall feed his Flock" 5:11
  8. Bernstein: Mass - Simple Song 4:05
  9. Fauré: Requiem, Op.48 - Pie Jesu 4:03
  10. Poulenc: Gloria - Domine Deus 3:50
  11. Mozart: Vesperae solennes de confessore in C, K.339 - Laudate Dominum omnes gentes 4:22
  12. Handel: Messiah / Part 1 - Air: Rejoice greatly, o daughter of Zion 4:40
  13. Humperdinck: Hänsel und Gretel / Act 2 - "Abends will ich schlafen gehn" 3:20
  14. Berlioz: L'Enfance du Christ, Op.25 - Arr. Chris Hazell - L'Adieu des bergers 4:09
  15. Reger: Mariä Wiegenlied, Op.76/52 2:20
  16. Traditional: Amazing Grace 5:20

Recording info

Release Date: September 27, 2005
Label: Decca
CD / Download: 1