The Schubert Album

Buy album:

About the Album

Included in this album is a song selection featuring some rarely heard items such as the 15-minute ballad "Viola" and lots of the Schubert hits, such as "Ave Maria," "Die Forelle" and "Gretchen am Spinnrade".

This is where Renée Fleming proved herself as a voice of international importance, not just with the luster of her instrument but with her artistic integrity.

David Patrick Stearns

Track List

  1. Schubert: Heidenröslein, D. 257 (Op.3/3) 2:02
  2. Schubert: Die Forelle, D.550 (Op.32) 2:13
  3. Schubert: An die Nachtigall, D.497 1:50
  4. Schubert: Im Frühling, D.882 5:18
  5. Schubert: Die junge Nonne, D.828 4:36
  6. Schubert: Nacht und Träume, D.827 5:02
  7. Schubert: Auf dem Wasser zu singen, D.774 4:01
  8. Schubert: Ave Maria, "Ellens Gesang III", D839 8:09
  9. Schubert: Frühlingsglaube, D.686b 4:04
  10. Schubert: Gretchen am Spinnrade, D.118 3:23
  11. Schubert: Du bist die Ruh', D.776 (Op.59/3) 5:23
  12. Schubert: Der Tod und das Mädchen, D. 531 (Op.7/3) 3:02
  13. Schubert: Viola, D.786 15:07
  14. Schubert: Die Männer sind méchant, D.866 No.3 2:39

Recording info

Release Date: March 11, 1997
Label: Decca
CD / Download: 1
ASIN: B0000042GS